Prvi utisci / First impressions

Kako je čovjek brz da sudi o nekome drugom. To nam je nekako postalo primarno interesovanje, govorit o drugim ljudima, njihovim manama, izgledu. Iskreno pokušavam se čuvati od toga, svi su mi ljudi isti dok ih ne upoznam, svi su mi stranci i prema svima se ponašam isto.

Pišem ovo jer mi se desilo da procjenim jednu osobu kao zaista užasnu, možda i glupu i nekako bahatu i zbog toga se nisam trudio da upoznam onu pravu stranu te osobe. Mislim ne zbog druženja ili bilo čega već jednostavno da ispravim pogrešno mišljenje. Neću imenovati tu osobu, a sad je isuviše daleko da se izvinjavam.

Potsjetilo me ovo na par situacija koje su se meni dogodile. Jednom prilikom sam ulazio u prodavnicu i čuo čovjeka kako govori o meni svojim prijateljima, pa se onda okrenuo prema meni i nastavio da govori to što je govorio, što nije bilo baš lijepo, ali eto pripisivao mi je stvari koje ja apsolutno nisam uradio niti bi pomislio da uradim i svrstao me u društvo nekih 8 godina mlađih od mene s kojim ja apsolutno nikada nisam bio, a za koje on misli da su mi najbolji prijatelji. Nepotrebno je spomenuti da tog čovjeka nikad u životu vidio nisam a kamo li pričao s njim. Sama činjenica da me gledao u lice dok je to govorio i činjenica da me uopšte ne poznaje me malo nagnala na ovo razmišljanje o predrasudama. Baš kao kada sam jednu gospođu htio pitati gdje se nalazi zgrada opštine ili čega već a ona mi je prije nego sam to izustio rekla da nema ništa sitno.

Predrasude bole, užasne su i  moramo naučiti živjeti s njima, ali zaista su pogrešne, kao i to da ne dozvolimo sebi da govorimo o nekome prije nego upoznamo njegovo/njeno pravo lice…

We’re so quick to judge someone else. It somehow has became our primary point of interest, to talk about people, their flaws, looks. Honestly I keep away from it all, all people are the same until I meet them, all are strangers and I treat them that way…

I’m telling this as once I misjudged a person as a terrible, stupid and in many ways arrogant so I never really took time to get to know that person. Not for socializing or anything but simply to correct my wrong opinion. I won’t name the person, and it’s a bit too late to say sorry.

This kind of reminded me of a couple of situations that happened to me.  I once went into a store and overheard a man talking about me to his friends, then he turned towards me and went on telling things he was telling, which were not really nice, but anyway he pinned some things on me that I have never done nor would I ever do, and he paced me within a group of people some eight years younger than me with which I had absolutely nothing to do, and which he thought were my best friends. Needles to say that I have never seen that man before in my life nor have I ever talked to him. The fact that he kept looking me straight in the eyes while he was telling all the stuff he did made me think of prejudice. Just like this other time when I politely asked a lady for directions, or tried to ask her, because even before I managed to ask the question she said she had no change.

Prejudice hurts, it’s awful but we have to learn to live with it, they are wrong. We also must not allow ourselves to talk about someone without getting to know him/her…

One thought on “Prvi utisci / First impressions

Leave a Reply

