We Make Them Who They Are

Daniel Craig may be worth every penny for the job he does as James Bond in the 2 1/2 hour Skyfall, but should we really prorate it for public appearances?

The actor reportedly received a whopping ONE MILLION DOLLAR paycheck for a little spokesperson work, showing up and taking pics in front of the new Range Rover at the New York Auto Show.

But after a VERY quick photo shoot, Daniel hightailed it out of there! Onlookers said he was there only a few minutes before bolting! One unsatisfied guest said:

“I couldn’t even tell if he was actually here.”

Ch-ch-check out the pics (below) to see for yourself if the actor’s wordless appearance seems worth it.

A representative from Range Rover decided to focus on the positive. He said:

“We won’t comment on our relationship with Mr. Craig beyond confirming that Land Rover supports the charity S.A.F.E., of which the actor is a patron, and will continue its charitable efforts with a vehicle donation later this year.”

S.A.F.E. works to fight AIDS and female mutilation in Africa, a cause we’re certain 007 could get behind!

This story that I read yesterday had me going the whole day but I couldn’t sit down to write anything. Yes, many times a day I wish I was a world famous superstar, don’t we all. My grief with this story in particular is actually the reason why I regret ever wishing to be a superstar. I know Mr. Craig supports the charity, but if the story of him receiving a Million $ for a “7-minute stroll in the park” is true, than I have to say that in this case the charity worked for him. My grief with it all, is that, we are the ones who make them superstars, we are the ones who  go to the movies to watch them we are the ones…well, we are the ones whose nose is rubbed in every time something like this happens. This is a way of saying, well you mere mortals can shove it where the Sun don’t shine, I’m off to by myself a new supercar.

You may call me jealous, bitter or whatever you like, but we allow them to behave the way they do. We made it possible for them to be overpaid, we made them who they are.

P.S. I may have not put it as eloquently as I wanted but I think you get the point that I’m mad at the behavior of the “celebrities”

Leave a Reply

