Secrets

“A wonderful fact to reflect upon, that every human
creature is constituted to be that profound secret and
mystery to every other. A solemn consideration, when I
enter a great city by night, that every one of those darkly
clustered houses encloses its own secret; that every room
in every one of them encloses its own secret; that every
beating heart in the hundreds of thousands of breasts there, is, in some of its imaginings, a secret to the heart nearest it!”

A Tale Of Two Cities by Charles Dickens presents one of its chapter with this fact. Made me wonder, do we know, who we think we know? Do we really know the things we think we know? Life unfolds its path in under our feet only moments before we step onto that secretive rug. We know nothing about tomorrow, we can’t be certain of it. We plan ahead, but can’t live ahead.

Where does our faith in tomorrow come from? There are just so many questions I dare not answer. I’m not afraid of failing, simply because there would be no right or wrong answer.

“that every
beating heart in the hundreds of thousands of breasts there, is, in some of its imaginings, a secret to the heart nearest it!”

These were the lines that shook me the most. I’m not afraid of what comes next as long as it doesn’t change the view on my love life. As long as things remain the same or get better. I am not doubting, I just wonder how many go to sleep thinking they know the secret of the heart sleeping next to theirs knot knowing they live a complete illusion.

I laughed, believing I was lucky, but then scared after one more thing crossed my mind. Can we keep things secret from ourselves? Can our heart conceal its wishes from the watchful eye of our mind? Has mine done it? There I wondered, do we know ourselves? Do we really know who we are?

Leave a Reply

